War and Peace

The BBC’s new adaptation of the Tolstoy classic is aired tonight.

I was fascinated to read that adapter Andrew Davies has decided to suggest an incestuous relationship in the production, claiming that incest is all there in the text!!!

Eh?

Now I’ve read War and Peace several times – Russian literature is an enthusiasm of mine, though I prefer Gorky and Lermontov to Tolstoy.

In all those readings of War and Peace I don’t recall ever seeing a hint of incest…

Am I being suspicious in thinking that Andrew is trying to sex up the production to gain viewing figures?

Come on Andrew – give me chapter and line of where the incest is in the book?

Leave a Reply

